How much do I need to make per trade?

Hello,

I'm new to Metatrader and trading in general; I'm sure this will be the first of many questions.

I've looked through the rest of the forums here and on other sites but I can't get a sense of how much I need to make with each trade to be profitable in the real world. I have been using a demo account but as I understand it that is quite different than the real world. Obviously I want to have a sense of this before I go live.

Certainly how much it takes to be profitable depends on one's specific brokerage costs, and I am currently evaluating SNC Forex if that helps, but I am just looking for a ballpark figure of how much I need to compensate for commissions, taxes and slippage in my estimations.

TIA,

Coz

Hi coz

There's no easy answer to this. It depends on a huge number of factors.

Firstly what sort of timeframes are you trading off, if your trading from a 1 minute chart you might be looking to capture 10 pip moves, if your trading the monthly charts, you might be looking to captutre 5000 pip moves. If youve been demo trading, you'll have a feel by now for what suits you.

The risk reward ratio and the strike rate of the system your trading will also have a massive influence. In simple terms you might develop a system with 90% winning trades, that take small 10 pip targets, with a 60 pip stop loss, so you get lots of small wins, offset by the occassional large loss, or you might feel more comfortable with a system with a 250 pip target with a 10% win rate, that uses a very tight 20 pip stop, so lots of small losses offset by the occassional large gain. Thats where psychology plays such a big part.

The types of strategies you use, and how you manage stops has a huge influence on these figures. Some sorts of systems are more suited to fixed targets, others work better with a trailing stop type approach. You might also want to consider multiple lots and scaling into or out of trades.